The Maine’s John O’Callaghan Launches New Side Project

Facebook Twitter Google + Pinterest Linkedin Reddit

Just last week, fans were teased with a fifteen-second video clip announcing a new 8123 project and upcoming release. Not much else was revealed at the time, but that didn’t stop thousands of fans flocking to the online store to pre-order the upcoming release.

Today, the curtains were pulled back a bit to reveal side project John The Ghost as the latest musical endeavor to originate from Arizona’s John O’Callaghan. Best known as the frontman of alternative rock band The Maine, O’Callaghan has also released music under his side project Eagles In Drag. Outside of crafting lyrics for his band for the past nine years, O’Callaghan has been known for his poetry. 2011 saw the release of his first poetry project – Exaltation – a work for which he partnered with photographer Dirk Mai. John the Ghost fuses his poetic talent and musical prowess under this new moniker. The first release from this project is Sincerely, John The Ghost, a unique collection of over sixty pieces of prose poetry paired with six original musical compositions. The release takes form both physically and digitally – as a book and EP. Written and recorded in O’Callaghan’s bedroom, Sincerely, John The Ghost chronicles the past two years inside his scattered brain. O’Callaghan states, “the purpose of this project is not only a form of catharsis by letting go of lingering ideas, but also an opportunity to potentially inspire others to express themselves in whatever ways make them feel alive.”

Today, fans get their first listen at the new music as John The Ghost premieres the first single “Sour Grapes” ahead of the EP’s release.


Sincerely, John The Ghost is a 90 page book and six song EP set for release via 8123 on April 29th 2016. Fans can hear the first single and preorder the EP today over at


1. Sour Grapes
2. Nowandlater
3. Everyone Is A DJ
4. The Whole Of Your Heart
5. Red House
6. All At Once



About Author

New England

Leave a Reply